Saturday, June 15, 2013

Seven Springs Museum Part 4

Powder Springs Churches

The first church to be established in Powder Springs was the Methodist Church, which met in a log cabin in 1838 before moving to its present location on Marietta Street in 1844. The Baptist Church was established in 1841 at the edge of the Baptist Cemetery. Both churches were destroyed by the Union Army in 1864, and their lumber used to build housing for Union troops. A new white frame Baptist sanctuary was built in 1877 on Marietta Street across from the Methodist Church.

"Dinner on the ground" at Powder Springs First United Methodist Church early 1900s.
This brick sanctuary replaced the 1877 wooden Powder Springs First Baptist Church in 1914.
This building was replaced in 1965, but the memorial stained glass windows were transferred to the new building.
The 1924 brick sanctuary of Powder Springs First United Methodist Church (upper left).
The Primitive Baptist Church (lower right) was established in 1851.
W.T. Walden, pastor of the Primitive Baptist Church for 40 years, and his family.
New Hope Missionary Baptist Church, founded in 1867

Old Friendship Baptist Church was started by slaves in 1854.
The congregation originally met in a brush arbor.

Powder Springs Schools

The Springville Academy, later known as just the Academy,
was chartered in 1840.
Lost Mountain School (top) was located on the northwest corner of
Lost Mountain Road and Dallas Highway, across from Lost Mountain Store.
(Bottom) The Academy served students before Powder Springs School
opened in 1920.
Lost Mountain School c. 1900.
The Bernard Academy was a private boarding school on Powder Springs Road.
The Seventh District Agricultural and Mechanical School operated as a boarding high school from 1908-1933 on 240 acres of land donated by John N. McEachern. After the A&M School closed, the campus became John McEachern School.
The school served all grades until newer elementary and middle schools were built.
I spent 1st, 6th, and 9th-12th grades here and did not like getting shuffled to other schools in the interim.
The building at top, then known as the Old High School Building, was torn down when I was in 1st grade.
Richard B. Russell, a 1914 graduate of the 7th District A&M School,
was a Georgia State Assemblyman, Governor, Senator, and Presidential candidate.
Russell Hall at McEachern High School is named in his honor.
Powder Springs School consisted of grades 1-11 until 1953,
when high school students were transferred to South Cobb High.
Powder Springs School
Award-winning oral history of the black community of Powder Springs

Click on the first picture to go to larger images.


No comments:

Post a Comment