Monday, July 15, 2013

Historic Downtown Powder Springs, Georgia Walking Tour Part 7

Our walking tour of Powder Springs continues heading east on Marietta Street from the red-light at Oakview Dr., where the buildings transition from old store buildings to old houses. A number of houses downtown are now home to small businesses.

Marietta St., Powder Springs, GA
The Matthews-Lindley House, now the Owl Tree Bookstore, was the home of Uriah Matthews, who served as Powder Springs' first undertaker from the 1850s until 1901. Matthews furnished a coffin and a quilt to cover it as it was transported to the cemetery. Family friends and neighbors would furnish the wagon, dig and fill the grave, and lover the casket.
Tom Newell Lindley took over the business in 1901.

Office of Charles M Morris, Attorney


Marietta St., Powder Springs, GA
M.A.J. Landers Home
The M.A.J. Landers Company (1914-1936) sold hardware, feed, & fertilizer. Landers also owned a construction company, feed mill, and an automobile dealership. While mayor, he initiated the first city-owned water works in 1934.
The house is now the office of Larry J White, Attorney.






Jamboree Academy


Marietta St., Powder Springs, GA
The Florence Home was built around 1915 by W.W. Florence & his wife Ida Butner Florence.
Frank Pickens "Pick" Lindley, Jr. converted the home to a funeral home in 1953.
Currently Bellamy's Funeral Home.

Classical columns line the first and second story porches.



Decorative windows


Decorative masonry chimney


Marietta St., Powder Springs, GA

 The Bookout-Vaughan-Petree-Smith House, built 1896, was the home of Dr. J.S. Vaughan.

McEachern-Miller House
Home of David McEachern, ancestor of John Newton McEachern for whom McEachern High School was named, this house was purchased by G.D. "Dave" Miller, one of the first rural mail carriers, in 1902. Originally a four-room shotgun house, two of the rooms were moved along side the other two and a hall was built between them. Later a wrap-around porch and two additional rooms were added.


Site of the Scott-Rice-Mellichamp-Sgrignoli House "the Ivies". Built around 1866 by Isaac Newton Scott (1841-1908) and his wife Louise Ragsdale (1843-1928), it was one of the oldest houses in town before being dismantled in 1997 to make room for a parking lot for the First Baptist Church of Powder Springs.



No comments:

Post a Comment